Ten Years After

Not the band…

But the age of the mattress I sleep on.

How can I remember?

Because Bob bought the set when he moved to Saratoga in the spring of 2007.

I remember meeting him for the first time.

He walked past my desk after the then current dean introduced us. He turned and looked back at me and smiled a. very. big. grin.

A few short months after that, we began our relationship.

August 10, 2007.

Ten years later, things are not anything like I had imagined they would be.

Nothing has happened the way he told me it would. Nothing is panning out as we had imagined. Nothing is as wonderful as the life he promised me, over and over and over and over.

So, that’s what I do in this bed. Turn over and over and over and over.

This old, stained, squishy, lumpy, replaceable, unattractive, worn out, once loved and cherished thing has seen better days.

And so has this mattress.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

